Chasing Rainbows

Well it has begun, my late night journey into American Idol voting. And yes, 10pm these days is well beyond my desired bedtime. Yet there are times in life when it makes sense to stay up a little later. Even stranger is that I cannot help but feel like Kermit the Frog singing an off pitch song about rainbows as I watch Angie Miller in the top contestants for American Idol votes. I feel the spirit of a small town called Beverly Massachusetts echoing across the nation in the results of those votes.  It is a spirit that taps into a dream which refuses to fail, along with a belief that continues forward in the hearts, actions and deeds of everyday people.

I have come to find that dreams are precious things not to be easily let go because like rainbows they tend to fade quickly if we do so. I can see the birthing of dreams coming true not only in the voice of Angie Miller but the mother’s love of an autistic child as told by Beverly resident Jeneil Russell whose stories will appear in upcoming insertions of Chicken Soup For the Soul. I can see it in the sacrifices of long time Beverly resident Fred Butler, who at age 106 was granted his diploma for the rainbow, the dream he pursued so many years ago.

I followed my own rainbow to Massachusetts nearly nine years ago and at the end I found the North Shore and a town called Beverly. With the successes of Angie, Jeneil and Fred this town shows itself to be a place that still believes in rainbows and the power of people who struggle together, who believe together and who work together to make dreams come true. They all remind me no matter the ups and downs, the setbacks and shortcomings to keep fighting and keep believing. To keep believing that somehow a lowly person can make a difference, inspire others and like a rainbow in the sky be an example of who and what we can be. I thank you all for that continued inspiration. I guess Kermit was right, at the end of the rainbow we will find the lovers, the dreamers and me.

Make sure to vote and help lift the dreams of a young girl named Angie Miller.

Together we have it in us to inspire a nation!

Leave a Reply

